55

February 24th

Cate’s class had a career day at school.  They got to dress up as what they wanted to be when they grow up.  At first Cate said “married” which is strange enough in itself because she usually says she doesn’t want to be married.  I said okay, then asked her what she wanted her job to be.  She replied. “I want to be a mom.”

My genius response?  “No Cate, I’m talking about a REAL job.”  I paused and then wanted to hit myself in the forehead.  I spend all this time trying to tell the girls my job is to take care of them, then undo all that in a sentence.  Even stranger that Cate said that, because she often says either that she “just wants to be an aunt” or that “I will get married and have babies and my husband will stay at home with them while I go to work.”  Any way it works out is just fine with me.

After some discussion, Cate decided to dress up as a president since presidential trivia seems to be her current obsession.  I tried to get a good picture of her before school, but she was so sad and would not stop crying because Chris is still gone and she wanted him there.

2/24

Even a president needs his (or her) Daddy sometimes, don’t you think?

This entry was posted in 365. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 55

  1. Nana says:

    Aaah, what a sad picture of our little princess! I know she is smiling again today and can’t wait for tomorrow’s smiley face. Hugs

Leave a Reply

