33

February 2nd

The blur of childhood.

It’s so easy to get weighed down with it. To worry about the laundry, cooking, glitter covering the dining room, runny noses, temper tantrums.  So easy to forget to stop and enjoy everything else as it’s happening.

Part of the reason I’ve been posting every day is to take time each day to notice the good along with the bad.  I hope that I share enough of both to show our day-to-day reality.  Some days are bad.  Some are indescribably good.

Will I look back on this time and remember only the bad stuff?  No.  I probably won’t give all the trouble much thought once it passes.  What I will remember is Meg dancing in the living room, a frenetic ball of energy.

2/2

I’ll remember Blythe singing “You Are My Sunshine” to me.

I’ll remember Cate’s great report card, and her excitement about getting a “+” in PE.

I’ll remember the giggling fit tonight when Cate and Meg discovered that a pirate’s treasure is also referred to as “booty.”

I need to buck up, and wade through the messiness as best I can, because it’s not going to last. I’m going to miss every second of it.

This entry was posted in 365. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 33

  1. Yes you will. My girls are 8 and 10, and although, that is STILL young, I miss them as babies. Good for you that you are recognizing this now and not later. I wish I had.

  2. Mom says:

    Well done, daughter. A great lesson for all of us.

  3. Nana says:

    Well said, my dear! Treasure these times. In the big picture, they are such a small window of your life.

Leave a Reply

