peanut butter blossoms

We are having a lot of fun this year crafting, cooking, and decorating the house.  Among the many things we did this weekend was to bake our first batch of Christmas cookies.

Hershey’s peanut butter blossoms were a holiday standard in our house.  My mom would have my brother and I unwrap the Kisses.  We loved it as kids, but now as a mom myself, I realized why she had us do it – it’s a pain the butt to unwrap all those!  So in keeping with tradition, I had the girls do the honor of unwrapping.  Blythe mostly tried to eat the chocolates, but they did a good job, and didn’t put any in their mouths aside from the one I let them have.

Unwrapping Kisses

I couldn’t resist lining the girls up for this picture.  My grandmother made the girls several kid-sized Christmas aprons last year, and they were extremely excited to pull them out and wear them this year.

Three Bakers

I made the dough balls, and the girls rolled them in sugar.  Once they were out of the oven, the girls (minus Blythe) pressed the kisses into the cookies.

Peanut Butter Blossoms

I’m so glad to be passing this tradition on the girls!

This entry was posted in holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to peanut butter blossoms

  1. Aunt Karen says:

    What great photos! I love the traditions you are passing on to your children! These are not my favorite cookies, but the memories of making them with my girls is too good to pass by. Now Gage is unwrapper and the kiss stealer!

  2. Nana says:

    GREAT POST TODAY! I just loved it. So wonderful what you are doing and the photos are wonderful! Kinda got the Nana in the Christmas spirit.

  3. Aunt Karen says:

    I just showed the photos to Gage. He said he loves it because it was cute! He misses his cousins!

  4. Jamie says:

    I haven’t been by in forever! Your girls sure have grown! So beautiful! Hope your family is well.
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

