2010 books

Midway through this year, I started keeping track of what I’ve read on Shelfari.  I was looking for a good recommendation site, and I stumbled across it.  It’s not quite what I wanted, but I like it, and I use it, though mostly to log what I have that I want to read, what I’m currently reading, and what I’ve finished.  Here’s what I read this year, in chronological order:

  • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  • A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy O’Toole
  • My Life in France by Julia Child, Alex Prud’homme
  • The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  • The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  • 100 Years in Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Awakening by Kate Chopin
  • The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees
  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • The Hand That First Held Mine by Maggie O’Farrell
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell
  • Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
  • All the Mowgli Stories by Rudyard Kipling
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

So that makes 22 books for the year.  It would be 23, but I haven’t gotten the chance to finish Gone with the Wind yet.  Some of the titles are ones I re-read, but most were ones I hadn’t read before.  I’ve picked up and not finished several books, but the list above is only what I’ve finished this year.  I say that’s not too bad considering my circumstances (3 kids including new baby, move to a new house, deployed husband) over the last year.

This coming year, I have a goal for myself of reading at least 24 books.  That’s 2 a month.  I read pretty quickly, so I think that’s amply reasonable.  While I’ve got some in mind I want to read, I don’t really have much planned yet for the year.  I know I’m going to re-read a few of my favorite books from childhood, I’ve got a few classics lined up, and a couple newer books as well.  That probably makes up less than 10, though.

What did you read this year?  What can you recommend?  What’s your favorite book of all time?  What should I definitely read?  What should I not read?  Anyone?

This entry was posted in books and reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2010 books

  1. Cathi says:

    Have you tried http://www.goodreads.com ? It’s a great site for keeping track of what you’ve read, and you can view what your friends read and recommend books to each other.
    I would highly recommend The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent and the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. Both are really good and provided excellent discussion at my book club.

  2. ericamcmillian says:

    Cathi,

    I have read The Heretic’s Daughter, but I guess I neglected to put it into Shelfari. (I read it before I started keeping track.) I’ve edited the post to include that book. I check out both the other book and the website. Thanks!

  3. Shanti says:

    I really like The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. It’s quick and easy, but still entertaining.

    Another one of my faves is Hawaii by James A. Michener. It’s a longer read, but it’s hard to put down. Love. It.

    By the way, your girls are GORGEOUS! 🙂 I’m glad to see you guys are together again after the deployment. Blessings to you all in the new year!!

  4. Karen McFadden says:

    Did you read Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen? I read it a few years ago but found that a few of my friends had never heard of it, so I gave copies of it as Christmas Gifts this year. Its wonderful and has one of the best endings I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

