thanksgiving

I’ve been ruminating on the upcoming holiday season and feeling a wonderful sense of abundance in my life.  I’m overwhelmed with gratitude for both the things I’ve been given and the things that we, as a family, have worked hard for.

Chris is home from Afghanistan.  Cate is enjoying school.  We live in a wonderful house.  We’re surrounded by wonderful friends and neighbors.  Blythe is growing up (much too quickly) into an adorable toddler.  Chris is enjoying his job.  I’m gaining a bit more independence now that the kids are older to focus on my hobbies as well as my responsibilities.  Meg is wittier and sweeter than ever, and is relishing her role as biggest sister while Cate is in school.  Everyone is happy and healthy. We have more of anything than we need, and we’ve got more than I could ever expect of life.

Today I’m preparing for Thanksgiving, which we’ll be spending with several of our friends.  We’re splitting the cooking duties, but I’ve still got quite a bit of work on my plate.  I woke up this morning thinking I would be a frazzled freak by 4 pm.  Instead, I feel calm and so thankful that I have to opportunity to cook for my family and friends.

We have so much.

And if all of this weren’t enough to make it clear, I need only open the fridge to find this.

20 lb Turkey

A very obvious example of the abundance I’m blessed with – a 20 pound turkey waiting for me to roast.

This entry was posted in holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to thanksgiving

  1. pennstatecutie says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you & your family, Erica! You are right! We are so blessed 🙂

  2. Jenn says:

    Beautiful post Erica! Feeling so blessed this holiday too. Happy Thanksgiving to yall!

Leave a Reply

