school

It has begun.  School anxiety.  Not for Cate, though, for me.

I had a dream last night about her first day of school, and I was terrified, and things were in chaos.  It was raining, Cate couldn’t find her clothes, she refused to get dressed, and only wanted to play with Meg and Blythe, we didn’t know which class to go to, and we didn’t know what time school started.

I know all those things are not going to happen, but it feels overwhelming sometimes thinking about.  I’ve never had a kid in school before.  I never thought I’d have to send Cate to her first day without Chris.

I’ll feel better when I’m prepared a bit more.  I’ve gotten her backpack, lunchbox, and a handful of school supplies.  I’ll have to wait until we get back to Japan to get the rest.  She has to have a TB test before she can start, and Cate is needle-phobic, so I’m sure that’s part of my anxiety as well.  I hate having to go anywhere involving a needle with her (even if it’s not to be used on her, as a vet visit recently proved.)

I think I’m noticing a theme here.  Like with the dentist visit, I’m just anxious.  There is a lot to be done about going home and before Chris comes home, and as usual, I’m feeling overwhelmed.  I know I shouldn’t be; I’ve got plenty of time, and I’m a planner (an over planner, really).

Just got to keep calm.  And have faith that Cate’s first day will be easy and fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to school

  1. Amy Waters says:

    so she’ll be going to school in Japan? how does that work? when does she start? i totally understand your feeling, i’m having mini panic attacks about Connor going off to school. especially since hes never been away for anything

  2. nana says:

    My Darling Girl, Quiet your fears — you are not just a planner or over planner, you are a VERY well organized young woman who is the queen of detail. Your daughter is a superior specimen who is ready for school and will enjoy it. My hat is off to you and my heart is open to you — carry on in your usual regal manner!

  3. Laura says:

    Listen to your Nana!!!Her words of wisdom are spot on. You are the amazing mother of all time and now is not the time to second guess. Cate will be prepared and will do a fantastic job of making you proud (as she does her Grandma).

Leave a Reply

