sisterly love

C & B

One of the things I most enjoy about the girls is how much they love one another.  Yes, Cate and Meg bicker sometimes (well, a lot) but they don’t ever really fight.

They’re always so happy to see one another in the morning.  If one gets a snack, they make sure to bring some to the other. They make requests on one another’s behalf.  Cate and Meg both are very concerned for the happiness and comfort of the baby.  Blythe adores them, and the girls can make her laugh like no one else.  They’re so patient with her, even when she gets a good handful of their hair.

I often wonder if this bond they have now will continue as they get older, or will they grow apart as they get older?  I know what I wish, and I do everything in my power to foster it.

I also wonder about how the three-sisters dynamic is going to play out.  I’ve had countless people warn me against having an odd number of children – that I should either have 2 or 4, but not 3.  I know it’s still very early in the game, but so far it hasn’t been an issue.  Cate and Meg.  Meg and Blythe.  Blythe and Cate.  Doesn’t matter.  They play and there isn’t an argument about it.

(Just an aside – you truly, truly wouldn’t believe how many people ask if we’re going to try for a boy and/or lecture me about having an odd number of kids.  As if it’s their business!  I have to try hard to bite my tongue, but I have a rather rude dialogue running through my head when anyone says something about either of those things.  I’m sure if I let it loose, they’d be stunned.  Instead,  I try my best to smile and tell them we’re happy with what, and how many, we have.)

At any rate, here’s hoping for more good relations between them in the future.

This entry was posted in sweet sisters. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to sisterly love

  1. Erica says:

    I firmly believe that love & respect begins in the home. If you require that your children show respect to one another, then they will continue to get along. It’s when the respect is trampled on that causes hurt feelings. The same with love… it’s a requirement in our house. We love each other and in turn, they love us. It’s really simple, isn’t it? So, why do so many people struggle with it?

  2. nana says:

    these girls are truly special and amazing IN EVERY WAY!

  3. Courtney says:

    Wow, Erica! Those girls are getting so big and beautiful! I just can’t get over Meg’s curls. Gorgeous babies 🙂

  4. ericamcmillian says:

    Erica – You’re 100% right!

    Nana – You’re 100% right! lol

    Courtney – Thanks! And I know, Meg’s curls are out of this world.

Leave a Reply

