2000th post, giveaway, and low tide

I realized a couple of days ago that this would be my 2000th post.  Wow!  It’s hard to believe I’ve sat down to do this 2000 times. I wanted to have something “cool” enough to put up before I posted anything, and we stumbled across just the right thing on Sunday – low tide and tide pools at the sea wall.

But first, since this is my 2000th post and I feel like celebrating, I’ve decided to do a little giveaway.  Leave a comment below and I’ll draw a name at random on Saturday morning (Friday evening in the US) and I’ll send a box of Japanese goodies to the winner.  Even if you’ve never left a comment before, please break your silence and say hello!  (I’d like to have at least 3 names on here that I could draw from…please don’t make me feel like a loser with no comments.  Please?)

Alright.  On to the tide.

It was so far out, I couldn’t believe it.  We’d had lunch at Hamaya Soba, as usual, and decided to let the girls kill a little energy at the playground nearby.  We ended up spending most of the time exploring the tide pools instead.

It looked like an alien landscape.

Low Tide 8

Low Tide 4

Low Tide 3

Look how far out the water was. That dot on the right side of the photo below is our stroller.

Low Tide 7

And here are the wave breaks. It felt strange being on the other side of them.

Low Tide 9

It really was beautiful. The water was so blue, and the sea bed was neat to look at.

Low Tide 10

Low Tide 1

We even got to see a few sea creatures, like this starfish.

Low Tide 6

And this…whatever. These black snake-y looking things were everywhere. They ranged in size from the size of your thumb to the size of your arm. The one below is one of the arm sized ones. I’m sure I could figure out what they are if I looked around hard enough. They didn’t slither. They were attached to the rocks at one end, and sort of crawled like a starfish at that one end only. Weird.

Low Tide 5

Anyway.

We had a fun time exploring the tide pools. Here’s one last photo.

Low Tide 2

Don’t forget to comment for a chance to win! Happy 2000th post!

This entry was posted in beach. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 2000th post, giveaway, and low tide

  1. Erica says:

    Wow! 2000! I thought I was hot stuff with my 800! 😉

  2. Tyly says:

    Congratulations on 2000!

    The black thingies are… ewww.

    You guys are getting to see so many beautiful things! I’m glad you’re all experiencing them together. 🙂

  3. Gretchen says:

    Since I’ve only been reading for a little while, it sounds like I’ve got probably 1,950 entries to read. Very cool photos of the tide pools. As a kid we always went to the tide pools in CA when we’d go visit my Grandmother. Good memories.

  4. Jenn says:

    Love the pics! I can’t believe you have 2000 posts!!!! WOW~

  5. Aunt Karen says:

    Thanks for your dedication to your blog. It is hard to believe that it is already at 2000. I love being able to feel as though we aren’t so far away. It is wonderful being able to peek into your life. Cant wait to hug and kiss up on all of you in June!

  6. Your Old Man says:

    Congratulations on the 200oth post. I’m very proud of you for sticking with it for so long. You don’t give yourself enough credit, you’re an excellent blogger! I love you! Let me draw for some of that sweet swag!

  7. ericamcmillian says:

    Sorry, Chris. You’re disqualified from the box of goodies; you can go and get your own…or I’ll even pick some up for you if you need me to.

  8. Rose Alice says:

    Hello Erica, my name is Rose, I live in England.

    I have been reading your blog for about two months, since I googled a picture of ‘young lady gaga’, and I found a picture of a younger Cate wearing your mascara!

    I love to read your posts, and your pictures are gorgeous, you have a very good eye for detail. I particularly enjoy your posts about the craft projects that you do, I have even infact recently been inspired to make my own patch work quilt!

    Anyway I just wanted to let you know that you have a reader in England, and congratulations on your 2000th post!

  9. adri says:

    lurker coming out–i’ve been following you from cassandra’s blog for almost 2 and a half years. i love your blog and recipes!

  10. Cassandra says:

    Erica, how cute! A giveaway! I love that!!! Your girls are getting so big. I think I say that every comment, don’t I?

    Black thingies? Yikes.

  11. Allison Fronistas says:

    Hey…I hope all is well….I am wishing you were her …I am 25 weeks pregnant now and I have a ton of labor questions ….wishing we could chat about it!!! Miss ya!

  12. Melissae says:

    Hey Erica,

    You’ve got a great blog! I really enjoy reading it. 🙂

    Goodies from Japan, huh?! Ah..there are so many things we miss!

  13. Ang says:

    Don’t put me in the drawing of course, but just wanted to say I’m way grossed out by the black things. ew. I’m fine with never seeing them, in person, ever. Plus, OMG 2000 posts? You’ll have to tell me how and when you fit it into your day. I need some inspiration.

  14. Shaunna says:

    I always read…Yep, a blog stalker:)

    Your girls are precious!

    And I agree with everyone else…Those black things…Ugh! Yuck!!

  15. Aunt Karen says:

    Isn’t it wonderful that you are reaching to England with your posts! I am so glad to see that so many others enjoy your blog, hon. You are an amazing mother, wife, daughter, niece and woman! So blessed to be able to claim you as family. These comments are fantastic.

  16. Catherine says:

    AHAH, I found out this website just like Rose Alice while searching for “young lady gaga” and since I stumbled on your blog, I’m always reading it ! (So far, I’m at October 2009, so I’ve pratically read the 2,000 posts ^^)

    Congratulations for your 2,000 posts and for your adorable little daughters (and thank you very much for the recipe box, it will be really useful next year with my first apartment :D)

    Now, I’ll try to comment more often and try to be with you until you post your 3,000th !

    Congratulations from Quebec, Canada,

    Catherine (18 years old ;D)

  17. Amy Waters says:

    first- i’m LOLing at the people that found you from the Gaga picture of Cate
    B- congrats on 2000 posts
    and quatro – those black things are yuck!

  18. Kate says:

    Ha, I too found your blog by ‘googling’ pictures of young lady gaga – and up came Cate. I love to read about all of your family adventures and have gone back to past posts to read more great stories and see more of your beautiful pictures! You’re a wonderful writer, not to mention photographer and I love your recipes. I made the curried red lentil soup the other night – it was amazing and so nice to warm up a cold Maine evening! Thank you!!

  19. Jamie says:

    Haha, 3 comments- you have 18 so far!!! I can’t believe its your 2000th post- wow! That’s just crazy! And I can’t believe Blythe is 3 months old! She’s such a little cutie pie! Those tide pools look amazing- it must be fun to go exploring!

  20. Lou Ann says:

    I am a great grandmother who lives in West Texas with my husband of nearly 58 years. I’ve only been following you since back in the fall of 2009. Have you ever thougt about it – when the tide is out, you are walking of the bottom of the ocean?

  21. AmyB. says:

    Sea Cucumbers. That’s what the black thingies are. They are slimy and icky but pretty cool- when they are threatened (as in, picked up and shaken around) they secrete white slime that hardens into glue. Back in the day people used to pick them up and cover the bottom of their bare feet with the slime, then it hardens quickly and they could walk around on the reef without hurting their feet. Voila, Sea Cucumber shoes!
    Just thought I would share one of my favorite trivial facts with you 🙂

  22. Carol says:

    I love your blog – it keeps me feel closer. At work – they all read the blog as well. In the mornings, they come in the office to see what you have posted. I agree with the comments on the pictures, you have a good eye for detail and lighting. I think everything you do is wonderful, but, being that I gave birth, my opinion may be a bit biased. Thanks for taking time with the blog. What a great time caspule for the girls.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

