shaken

We woke this morning at 5:30 to a magnitude 7.0 earthquake!  Yikes!

Everyone and everything is fine.  The pictures are a little crooked on the wall, but other than that, no lasting effects.  (Well, my nerves are shot.)  We have electricity, water, phone, and internet.  Looking outside after the sun rose, I couldn’t see any damage anywhere.

I woke up to a clinking metal sound, and in my sleep haze, thought Chris was having a bad dream and kicking around in the bed.  I went to poke him to wake him up when he sat up by himself.  He asked, “Is this an earthquake?” and we realized that yes, it was.

I was frozen with fear, but managed to direct him to go get the girls out of their bed.  (No, I’m not bossy at all.  Why do you ask?)  They’re in a bunk bed and in my panic I could just see it collapsing.  He got them out of bed and got them into our room, and by that time it was just about over.

Chris managed to go back to sleep.  I was terrified, and there’s no way I could have gone back to sleep.  I got up with the girls and started to contact family before they heard another way.

No major tsunami warnings, but I’m not really worried about them because we’re on pretty high ground here.

Like I said, I’m a bit freaked out, but everyone is just fine.  I never want to do that again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to shaken

  1. Erica says:

    Oh wow! That’s crazy!

    I don’t watch the news anymore, so I would not even heard of this. Glad everyone is safe and sound!

  2. Carol says:

    I am so happy that I was in school with no TV or I would have been a basket case. Glad that all is well.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

