eventful day

Yesterday we had a scare with the baby.

Don’t worry, everything is, in fact, fine.

It’s been raining here on and off for the last week or so.  The day before yesterday I fussed at the girls about not being allowed to wear flip-flops in the rain because they were too slippery.  I’m a bit like Alice in Wonderland, as, “I give myself very good advice but I very seldom follow it.”  Yup, I wore flip-flops yesterday after not allowing them the day before.  Anyone want to guess what happened?

I’d loaded the girls into the car on the way to the commissary when I realized I’d forgotten my reusable bags.  I dashed back into the house, and as I was making a left turn inside to the kitchen to grab the bags, I fell.  A wet-flip-flopped-feet-out-from-under-me-slam-into-the-tile kind of slip.

I landed on my left side, with my hip and wrist taking most of the impact.  I got up, realized I hadn’t hit my stomach, and went to the store.  But I still felt like I’d been punched in the stomach, so when I got home, I called the OB clinic.  They told me to head straight for labor & delivery for monitoring – any number of really horrifying things could have happened.

I got Cate & Meg to a friends’ house, tried to get a hold of Chris, and was on my way.  Turns out Chris was out of the office without his cell phone on his way to another base to pick up a few things, so I called one of his co-workers and told him what was going on so he could track down Chris for me.  Unfortunately, when Chris walked back in the building, the message got to him that I was in labor.  He knew about the fall, but I’m sure he was panicked until he got to the hospital to find that I was okay.

With the way I fell, I had to stay until I’d reached 6 hours after the fall, right about 3 pm.  I was hooked  up to monitors, had labs done, and there were several unsuccessful attempts at an IV line (until they decided that they were going to wait until they were certain I really needed it since it was so difficult to place it.)

Everything was looking perfect, so they sent me home at the appointed time.  Thank goodness.

It could have been a much scarier day.

One final note – the miscarriage I had earlier in the year – if I hadn’t miscarried, I’d be due right at this time, so I felt a little emotional about being in labor and delivery.  I sure wish it hadn’t happened.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to eventful day

  1. Teri says:

    I’m so glad that you (both) are ok! (((HUGS)))

  2. Chelsey says:

    yikes! I’ve done that before..stupid flip flops! Glad you and baby are ok!

  3. Jenn says:

    So glad you and baby are ok. You never know what can impact the little one you are carrying in your tummy. If they were anything like the JCrew flip flops with the elastic straps that I have… I can totally seeing that happen. I’ve busted my tail several times in those things!

  4. Sara says:

    That’s so scary! I’m glad you and the baby are doing well. Be careful! (o:

  5. Cassandra says:

    This is so scary! I am SO GLAD everything is ok!

  6. Jamie says:

    SO glad you and baby are ok! How scary though! And how horrible to have to be there on such a difficult day. Those days are never easy to deal with.

Leave a Reply

