calling all teachers and parents (and generally creative people)

I need some help.

Chris is getting ready to go out of town for a week and a half.  It’s too hot for me to sit outside for long, and I don’t want to spend a ton of money to go out and do things.  Given those points, I’ve decided to do “theme” days while Chris is gone that will (ideally) include a favorite book or movie and activities related to it. (Thanks to my neighbor Angie who did something similar while her husband was out of town for the idea.)

I need some ideas.

So far, I’ve come up with a few ideas.  One day will be a Strega Nona day.  We’ll read the book, do a pasta-related craft, (perhaps dyed pasta necklaces – I’m still working it out), and then for supper, of course, pasta!

Another idea I was considering was a day based on The Very Hungry Caterpillar.  For crafts, we’ll make a paper chain caterpillar, and glue cut out picture of food from magazines onto a leaf.  We can also go shopping or make some of the foods that the caterpillar eats.  Maybe we’ll even make a meal of it.

Maybe another day could be based on Pinoccho.  We could make puppets out of paper bags, watch the movie, those sorts of things.

I’m having trouble thinking of enough theme days to fill up the time.  I’d like to have 7 days worth of ideas, or even more so that I could use them later.

So, can you help me out?  Care to share any ideas?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to calling all teachers and parents (and generally creative people)

  1. Tyly says:

    You would think I’d be better at this…

    What about “Brown bear, Brown Bear…” I have seen pre-k and kinder to projects with this. They find patterns of the animals (for free online!) and have them create and color their own book that goes with the actual book.

    There’s always Green Eggs and Ham, which leads to a dinner of what else? A friend did this for her son, and he loved the green eggs!

    I know there’s an Eric Carle ladybug book, and I’ve seen pre-k and k use paper plates with a brad to create their own ladybugs. The brads make it possible to open the wings.

    If you do a snowy day story, shaving cream (any cheap one) and Elmer’s glue mixed together makes GREAT puffy snow when it dries. I do that every year at Christmas time.

    Sorry I don’t more! If I think of anything else, I’ll let you know!

  2. Amy W says:

    have you watched Pinocchio lately? its sorta scary for their age. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mypa-rmn5GE

  3. Sara says:

    What about Cinderella? You do make cute little tiaras and play dress up, and make something pumpkiny.

    Can you tell I don’t have a daughter?

    Or Beauty and the Beast, and you could make a big feast.

    Ok, I’m no help.

  4. Teri says:

    Stone Soup would be an EXCELLENT choice, since I know that you’ve got some great little kitchen helpers. While the soup is cooking, you could draw a bowl on paper & let the girls cut out different foods (from magazines and store flyers) to put “in” their soup bowl.

    You could do a day of all of the “If you give a Mouse…” books (If you give a mouse a cookie, if you give a moose a muffin, if you give a pig a pancake, etc).

    How about a beach day (pick some favorite summer-time books)? The girls can wear their swimming suits around all day, make slushies or ice cream, eat watermelon, make a watermelon craft or I have a really cute sand-castle craft that is fun, watch the Little Mermaid

    Let me know if you need more ideas – PS – I’ll send out the preschool lesson ideas to you as soon as I’m all done with all 15 of them 🙂

  5. Teri says:

    Oh and if you do the Very Hungry Caterpillar, I have a few other cute ideas…you could make name caterpillars for each of the girls. Cut out circles and write each letter of their name on one, plus make a head & draw a face on it & glue on some antennae. Mix up the letters and see if the girls (Cate) can put them back into the correct order to spell her name! Then glue them together onto a piece of card stock & she’s got a new name plate for her door!

    You could also make a picture book with each of the girls for The Very Hungry ____-Year-Old. Take a digital pic of them w/ their mouths open & make reprints of it (one for each page). They can find pics of things to eat on each page & then draw their body getting bigger and bigger each day through the story! Then they can pick what they want to turn into at the end of the story.

  6. ericamcmillian says:

    Yes, I would have thought Pinocchio would be scary for the girls, but they LOVE it. It’s one of the few movies in which they’ll sit through the entire thing. During the donkey scene, Cate just tells me how those “bad boys need to be good.” They get a little worried about Monstro (how is it spelled?) but they do alright.

  7. ericamcmillian says:

    Teri,

    I’ll take them if you’re willing to share! I’ve got a lot of days of nothing else to do to fill up. Since we live 5 mins from the beach, we were definitely going to do a beach day, though I might split the actual beach and activities into 2 days since they’re worn out after the beach. I just hadn’t thought of any GREAT crafts for a beach theme yet.

  8. Teri says:

    I have a really cool craft where you take brown paint and mix in a little bit of glue. Then, use sponges in different shapes (or wooden blocks) to “build” a sand castle on paper. Before the paint-glue dries, sprinkle some sand over it (maybe bring a little home from the beach?). Once it’s all dry, add details like a sunshine, little flags, etc w/ crayons or markers. They look sooo cute!

    You could also make a sand-castle cake by frosting it with tan-tinted icing & putting graham cracker crumbs all over it!

  9. Mom says:

    http://www.freekidcrafts.com/free_kid_craft_ideas.html

    They had some reaolly cute ideas – using letters of the alphabet, theme days, etc. It’s crafts for toddlers

Leave a Reply

