pineapple sherbet

We finally, finally, FINALLY (!) got our shipment on Friday.  We’ve been busy unpacking and sorting through all our junk, but I couldn’t be more thankful.  We’ve been without it for 2 months, and really longer than that because we were traveling, or prepping the house for moving for about a month before they came to pack us out.

One of the things I’ve been looking forward to getting was my ice cream maker.  With the weather as hot as it is, it’s the perfect time of year for it.  Yesterday, I got to give it another spin.
I was originally going to make pineapple sorbet with a fresh pineapple I had lying around, but realized I had a bit of heavy cream as well, so went for a sherbet instead.  I love fresh sherbet!
When it’s frozen as much as it’ll get from the ice cream maker, you put it in the freezer for a couple of hours to completely firm up.
Pineapple Sherbet (straight from freezer)
I couldn’t wait to scoop it!  The girls helped me make it, so they were really anxious to eat it as well.  Of course, theirs was not served like this.
Pineapple Sherbet
It turned out pretty good, but I think I’d make an adjustment next time – I’d use 2 Tbsp of lime juice instead of 1.  It needed a bit more tartness.  Here’s the recipe:
Pineapple Sherbet

1 small pineapple, stemmed and peeled, flesh pureed until smooth, then pushed through mesh strainer to remove pulp
3/4 cup sugar
2 Tbsp lime juice (remember, I only used 1 and it needed more)
1 Tbsp rum
1/2 cup heavy cream
Combine pineapple, sugar, lime juice, and rum in bowl; stir until sugar is completely dissolved.
Put into refrigerator until mixture reaches 40 degrees.  (I leave mine in overnight.)
Whip heavy cream in large bowl until it forms soft peaks.  Slowly pour pineapple mixture in and mix until just combined.
Immediately pour into bowl of running ice cream maker and churn until frozen.  Place in refrigerator for several hours to firm up.  Scoop and enjoy!
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

