Chef Cate

Cate loves to help me in the kitchen. If she’s not sitting on the counter “helping” me, she’s throwing a fit.

I’ve really had to struggle to find things she can do in the kitchen. There are too many things she’s not ready to do. I’ve found that most of the time, I can let her add ingredients to what I’m making (pre-measured if need be) and she also does a lot of stirring. A lot. She’s also really great about gathering ingredients. She’s even begun to learn which spices are which and can grab the correct ones.

The other day, I learned Cate is also good at chopping. With a knife.

Chopping

What do you think? Doesn’t she look like she’s doing a good job?
I did the first go through with the onions, then she insisted on doing a second chop with “Cate’s knife” – a kid-sized butter knife. If you look, she’s even mimicking my technique a bit.

When she decided she’d finished, she was so proud of herself. Just look at her face.
Pride
Listening to her boast about helping me cook usually makes it worth the hassle of trying to find jobs for her to do.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chef Cate

  1. Jamie says:

    Super cute pics! About the sunscreen, I think that has happened with one of mine before, and only on the face. I’m not sure what it was, and I think it was even a ‘good’ sunscreen (like Avon or something). I don’t recall how I remedied it…I probably just didn’t do much of anything. Sorry I’m not much help just wanted you to know your not alone!

  2. Nikki says:

    Good for you! What a great mom to let her help. I am terrible at letting my kids help in the kitchen. And I really should let them do it while they still have the desire.

Leave a Reply

