Fat Tuesday 2009

Every year we make it to Mardi Gras.  Since we’ve had children, we only make it to the Mardi Gras Day parades, but it’s a tradition.  Since Chris grew up in New Orleans, he grew up going to the parades, with Tuesday being the main event.  All the family gathers together and goes out to the same corner every year with lots of chairs and coolers bursting with food to make an entire day of it.
(For those who don’t know, Mardi Gras parades ARE NOT what you’re thinking you’ve seen on TV – that’s Bourbon Street, and we’re far from there.  The parades are very family-oriented.  I can best describe it as tailgating, but that’s not entirely accurate.)
The best part about the parade is getting to catch the stuff coming from the floats.  We put the girls on our shoulders to get them a bit closer to the action.  Meg looks a little shell-shocked below, but I assure you she loved it.  She was waving her hands and yelling “Heeeeeey!” with the best of them.
M on C's Shoulders
Meg on Chris
Cate was not as big of a fan this year.  I suppose it is a little overwhelming.  Good news is that we had lots (and lots) of family there, so she still had a great time visiting with everyone.
C on S's Shoulders
Cate on Uncle Sam
As much as Cate was hesitant to get on our shoulders, she loved watching the parades.  A marching band went by then stopped with the dancers next to us.  They were doing some marching in place thing, so Cate decided to join in.  She put her hands on her hips and starting to shake around.  She got the whole crowd in hysterics watching her trying to join in the action.  I love how you can see some on the people we were next to laughing as well.
Laugh
One of the favorite catches of the day was a crown.  She loved that thing and wore it until….it took a drink in the toilet.  Cate tried to go after it, but I assured my very upset little girl that that was the end of it, sad as it may be.  You agree, don’t you?
Mardi Gras Queen
Mardi Gras Queen
This one below is just because I think she’s so beautiful.
Beautiful Cate
Meg’s favorite catch was a parasol (or as Meg calls it, a “la”).  She carried it around for the rest of the day.
Parasol
Though, as you can see, it was not the only thing she enjoyed that she caught.  Can I tell you how much I cringe at this picture?  It makes me want to pour Purell into her mouth as I’m certain that had been on the ground.  Yuck.
Oh Meg
I loved this photo of Chris sister Lauren, and her husband, Jose.  (Yes, Lauren is in costume, complete with wig.)  So sweet, and almost like something was caught on film we shouldn’t have seen.
Lauren & Jose
I wanted to share this picture of Rachel and her fiance, Shaun, as well.  Rachel is 12 weeks pregnant with my first niece or nephew.  I couldn’t be more thrilled for the two of them (and for me who will get another little baby to love!)
Rachel & Shaun
Finally, I wanted to share an attempt at a family portrait.  For those with children, this sums it up, doesn’t it?  Meg shoving beads in my mouth, Cate pointing at something behind us, and everyone looking everywhere but the camera.  Sigh.
Family Portrait?
This entry was posted in family and friend visits, holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fat Tuesday 2009

  1. Teri says:

    Looks like you had an awesome time! I would love to go to Mardi Gras someday! 🙂 How fun!

  2. cassandra sagan webb says:

    Great photos! I love them! I want to do this one day, too.

  3. Jamie says:

    I LOVE all your pictures!!! You look GREAT! I’ve been thinking of you, I hope you are feeling ok. Your girls are beautiful as always.

  4. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Your daughters are just ridiculously gorgeous. Seriously. (o: And I love your photos!

  5. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Your daughters are just ridiculously gorgeous. Seriously. (o: And I love your photos!

Leave a Reply

