Well, I DID have some other posts planned…

…but then my camera went berserk and I can’t upload pictures. You’ll have to make do with this post instead.

I’ve been busy, busy, busy lately making Christmas gifts, cooking, and (occasionally) cleaning. I wish I could post all the crafty things I’ve been working on, but the people I’m making them for would have their gifts spoiled, so better to wait until later. I have some pictures of things I’m making for Cate and Meg, but then, like I said, the camera isn’t cooperating.

Here’s a baby blanket I made to send to friends recently. I’ve just started to teach myself how to do crochet edging, so it’s not quite as perfect as I would have liked, but I still think it came out pretty cute.

 

Nursery Rhyme Picot Edged Blanket

 

Speaking of crocheting, I’m teaching myself how to crochet more than just edgings, so here’s another blanket I’ve been working on I ran across on Bella Dia. I’d planned to post pictures of my own, but, you know, the camera.

I’ve also been cooking up a storm. Recently I tried this speedy no-knead bread from the NY Times and we love it! It’s great that I can start it after lunch, and have fresh-out-of-the-oven bread for supper. The other night we had angel hair pasta topped with a homeade marinara and this bread. It was great.

Even better, I made this pound cake for dessert. I made a warm spiced peach sauce to top it. Mmm. (The peach sauce was 8 oz. frozen peach slices, about 1/4 cup honey, a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg, and about 1 tsp of cornstarch. I let it simmer until the peaches were nice and soft – about 10-15 minutes.)

I got a great deal on a turkey the other day, so I roasted it, then used leftovers to make turkey stock yesterday. For supper I made Pennsylvania Dutch turkey pot pie (or turkey and dumplings everywhere else). The girls had a great time “helping” me roll out the dough, and as a bonus, I found a great recipe that didn’t require the use of shortening.

Well, that’s about it for now – the girls and I need to eat some breakfast. I think I’m going to be lazy and give them cereal this morning. I know that they’ll likely object and I’ll end up making oatmeal or scrambled eggs and toast as usual. (I’m so sick of making oatmeal and scrambled eggs.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well, I DID have some other posts planned…

  1. Sara says:

    I just have to say that we were the very lucky recipients of that blanket, and it is SO cute! Aside from the thrill of receiving a handmade, personalized blanket, it really looks professional. We are just incredibly touched that someone would go to all that trouble for our baby. We love it!! Thank you again Erica!

  2. edward and lilly says:

    The baby blanket is gorgeous, I don’t think I could ever get up the nerve to do crochet edging, well done!

  3. Suzie Button says:

    I love your little blanket you made! I’d love to learn that too I think! I’ll have to check out your recipe too. I read below about your hard week, I’m so glad you won the dishtowels, you deserve it! I remember, my first three children were at one time 7, 6, and 5 years old and then I gave birth to my fourth child Katie! I was so exhausted all the time trying to keep up! Blessings on you! Suzie

Leave a Reply

