uber domestic

This time of year (where it starts to get a tad cooler) must bring out the uber-domestic side in me.

Last night for dinner, I made corn on the cob, macaroni and cheese from scratch, and fried chicken. It was my first time ever making fried chicken and it turned out pretty darn good. To top off our oh-so-stereotypically southern meal, I also made a pitcher of sweet iced tea.

This morning, I made a batch of no-sugar strawberry jam and canned it myself. I’m anxious to see how it turned out, but I know that I at least did the canning part right because every once in a while I’m hearing a “pop!” from the lids sealing themselves in the kitchen.

The jam is not completely sweetener free, but it is indeed sugar free. I used some apple juice and honey to sweeten it.

I’m thinking a family picnic at the park with peanut butter and strawberry jam sandwiches for lunch.

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to uber domestic

  1. Jamie says:

    Yum, sounds like a delicious dinner!!! The jam sounds delish too!

  2. Teri says:

    It sounds amazing (all of it!) Can you post your recipe for fried chicken? I’ve never made it either and would love to try something that worked for another fried chicken beginner 🙂

Leave a Reply

