space invaders

Does your life ever seem like Space Invaders?

Mine does.

You start out on level 1 and you can knock the aliens out with time to spare. Sure, the next few levels come and the pace quickens, but you can keep up.

Then next thing you know, everything is out of control and there’s no way you can manage it all. You move as quickly as you can, but it hardly makes a dent. And when you’re focusing on one area, another mess of trouble heaps up somewhere else; while you’re doing that, the first area is crazy again.

Yeah…that’s how I’ve felt the last couple days.

It’s not that I’ve had an insane amount of work, it’s that there is always something that goes a little wrong and interrupts me.

I find time to unload the dishwasher, then Cate decides to help and drops a dish, which shatters.

I try to fold a load of laundry, and as quick as I can fold, the girls unfold.

I attempt to cook dinner, and Meg decides she needs to be held that moment. Of course, I can’t, so instead of listening to NPR while chopping, I’m serenaded by a tantruming toddler.

By the time the girls are in bed, I’m so exhausted from putting out fires all day that it’s all I can do to stay awake until 8:30. (Seriously, we’ve been getting into bed by 8:30 lately.) We might watch a little TV after we get into bed, but we’re asleep early.

Sheesh.

Someone hit restart. Level “life” is getting a bit too fast for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to space invaders

  1. Ms. W says:

    Oh yes… I remember that. And, trust me, it gets better… And by then, you’ll be missing these days!

  2. cassandra sagan webb says:

    WORD!

Leave a Reply

