I’m terrible at pie (but he loves me anyway)

I am NOT a baker.

I can cook well enough, but when it comes to baking, I still have a lot to learn.

But since today is our anniversary, I thought I’d give it a shot. (Yes, it’s our anniversary – 4 years today!)

The “traditional” gift for the 4th year is fruit or flowers, and since I’ve stuck with the traditional gifts so far, I wanted to do it again this year. Chris has always wanted me to make him a strawberry-rhubarb pie, so this is my gift to him.

Strawberry-Rhurbarb Pie

I know it may not seem like much of a gift, but it’s the thought that counts, right? We don’t need big, expensive gifts to prove that we love one another, but I do like to get/do a little something.

Also, I finally got to use my pie bird, which I was very excited about.

Now, I told you I’m not a good baker. If the on-the-verge-of-burnt edges and cracked, leaking crust above don’t prove it, this will:

The Forgotten Butter

This was the butter I was supposed to put into the filling, and I completely forgot. It was supposed to be dotted onto the fruit before putting on the second crust. I only remembered once it was in the oven. Oh well.

I’m anxious to see how it tastes.

Happy anniversary, Chris.

This entry was posted in food, holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m terrible at pie (but he loves me anyway)

  1. The Andersen Family says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Clint and I just celebrated our 7th anniversary this Monday! 🙂

    I hope you guys have a great day!

  2. Jamie says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!

    You’re right, its the thought that counts and that was quite sweet;)

  3. Jenn says:

    I didn’t realize yall have the same anniversary as my in-laws. Happy Anniversary!

    P.S. Foil around the edges helps keep them from burning. Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

