hanging on for the ride

This week, two of Chris’ sisters are visiting us while his parents are out of town. As Rebecca (15) and Sally (13) live out of town, we don’t get to see them all that much, so it’s great to get to spend a large chunk of time with them.

There has been one downside to their visit: Cate has been extremely whiny (and plain bratty at times); it’s driving us all up the wall.

Yesterday, she decided only Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, Uncle Sam (Chris’ brother who is not visiting right now), and/or Mavis (our dog) could put her down for her nap. Umm, sorry to break it to you, Cate, but unless we’re suddenly in a Disney movie, none of that is likely to happen.

This morning as I was making oatmeal Cate began to screech, “IWAAANNNAAAPUTCAAAANNNNEEEINAMAMOOOOUUUFFF!”

To that, I replied, “Cate, I can’t understand what you’re saying when you whine. What would you like to tell me?” (Trust me, that was a true exercise of patience because inside I was thinking something much less nice, or even appropriate.)

Turns out, she saw a half of a bag of M&M’s leftover from the other day on the counter. She wanted “candy in her mouth.”

I’m trying to cut her some slack since she’s been a bit sick this last week, but that doesn’t make it easy to do.

Add on a 13-month-old who’s getting in 3 teeth, and it can get pretty miserable here.

I know it will pass, though, and that’s what I cling to when times like these come. It seems with kids they really go in phases from I-wouldn’t-trade-a-second-of-this-wonderful, to who-are-you-and-what-did-you-do-to-my-child terrible. You can never tell how long one phase is going to last, or when the next one will begin.

All you can do is hang on for the ride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hanging on for the ride

  1. Ms. W says:

    so true, so true…

    Hang in there…

  2. cassandra sagan webb says:

    Ugh.

  3. Jenn says:

    O Geez. I guess when I have kids is when I’ll learn patience, cause it’s running out trying to convince my husband we should have kids right now. But I love to hear your stories only because I one day will know EXACTLY what you are talking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

