bye bye, Dora

I just did something I hope I don’t regret in the morning (or later this afternoon.)

I deleted all the Dora the Explorer from the DVR and canceled the season recording.

Yup, Dora’s gone…for good.

Cate had just recently discovered Dora. It’s not something she watched until perhaps a month ago. Well, she was watching an episode a few minutes ago while I was folding laundry. They were referring to a “bugga bugga” (read: bug) who was bringing a cookie to her babies (how about an apple?) Once they ate the cookie, one of the baby “bugga buggas” burped, and instead of excusing themselves, everyone laughed – not what I want my daughters to be doing!

Aside from this episode, Dora is an overweight girl who wanders around all day without parental supervision. Seriously, what kind of parents let their child wander through the “gooey geyser” or over the “muddy mountain” without them?

At any rate, it was the display of poor manners and grammar that ended our brief affair with Dora.

If I’m going to let them watch TV, I at least want it to be something I approve of 100%.

This entry was posted in tv and movies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to bye bye, Dora

  1. Heth says:

    I found you through Tip Junkie, WHo could resist the Life’s not a paragraph – too great!

    I hope you don’t mind, I had to comment on this one! I just had the same conversation with my Sis-in-law. It always droves me crazy to know Dora just wonders the world with no parent in sight. Now I have a few more reasons not to love her…

    So, I support you fully in your decision to delete. I know! Now you can feel good about it! A total stranger agrees!!!

  2. Ms. W says:

    I remember taking issue with Elmo and his speech impediment and poor grammar. 🙂

    My girls love PBS shows like “Franny’s Feet”, “Super Why”, “Word World” and “Word Girl”. Another good show that they like in small doses is “Hi-5” on Discovery Kids.

    We TIVO these shows and I have no problem with any of them.

  3. Jamie says:

    I totally hear you. We don’t have cable but even some of the shows on PBS. And another thing about Dora and some of the other cartoons is that they really seem to be indoctrinating or pushing other cultures onto us. I think it is good to learn other languages and cultures to an extent. But I also think they’re really pushing it on our children. Look at all the Chinese and Spanish shows. Please don’t think I’m anti-Chinese or Spanish, it is just ridiculous how even Dragon Tales is teaching me kids Spanish. If I want them to learn a foreign language I will teach them.

    Another is Caillou. He’s such a whiney brat that is bald and never grows up! I never thought of Dora until your post but it really makes sense.

    I’m thankful all we really have is PBS, but I don’t even want them watching all of those shows!

  4. geishaindisguise says:

    Hope you don’t mind my commenting on this. A friend from my carseat board gave me your blog as my daughter, Katy, is a Houdini very similar to your Cate. I have to agree with you about Dora, my sisters and brother were very into Dora when they were younger. I can’t for the life of me understand the obsession. I’ve also taken issues with Elmo, the Wonderpets, and Caillou. Prefering instead to stick to things such as Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Little Einsteins, and Blue’s Clues. Hopefully Cate won’t notice.

  5. cassandra sagan webb says:

    LoL, I never realized Dora was overweight! How funny!

  6. Jenn says:

    Wow I had no idea that is what the show was all about. How sad is that of the parents who just flop their kids in front of the tv without even knowing what their kids are watching. To think about all the kids/parents who love Dora. I’m so happy to hear Dora went bye bye. You are such a great example of how parents should be.

Leave a Reply

