birthday party

Well, my baby is three years old and the weekend is over. I feel like I can finally breathe again. (Almost.)

On Saturday, Cate turned three and we held a joint party for the girls. We had a lot of friends and family coming in from out of town, and it seems half the base invited. Then trouble hit.

On Friday night, Cate started running a fever. Even with her grandparents here, all she wanted was Mommy and to go to bed. On Saturday morning we made the decision not to cancel the party, but to call the parents of all the children invited to make them aware of the situation and let them decide whether or not they still wanted to come. Most people did, but understandably, a few decided not to attend.

Then, more trouble. There was a hydrochloric acid spill on the interstate between here and New Orleans – exactly the route Chris’ family was going to have to take. It took them much longer than it normally would to get here, but everyone made it.

With the illness and the spill, I was sure the party was going to be a bust, but I was so wrong! It was wonderful. With the help of our good friend, Motrin, Cate was her normal self all through the party.

So now for some pictures.

Remember that Pepto-pink icing I made? Here it is on the cupcakes.

Birthday Cupcake Tower

Also, I had the house decorated in pink everything.

Decorated Living Room

The girls looked so cute sitting at their new kid-sized table while we sang “Happy Birthday” to them.

Blowing Out the Candles

And Meg made sure to icing into her fancy dress. (It all washed out after some stain treatment.)

Smashed Cupcake

Here is one last picture of my beautiful big birthday girl:

3 Years Old

I must mention before I finish up that we ended up in the emergency room on Sunday morning when we took her temperature and at first it said is was 105. Turns out it wasn’t quite that high, but pretty high nonetheless. Looks like she has a urinary tract infection, and since she is refusing to swallow her antibiotics, we’re going to the doctor every day this week to have injections in both legs. Poor thing. I sure wish I could make her swallow the medicine, but neither force nor coersion nor bribery did the trick.

This entry was posted in holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to birthday party

  1. Jenn says:

    Sorry to hear she isn’t feeling well and that’s too bad you have to go into the doctor’s everyday . Glad the party went well. Hope she gets to feeling better soon.

  2. Ms. W says:

    Looks like a whole lotta fun!

    That’s terrible about Cate. Hope she begins to feel better soon!

  3. Jamie says:

    Man, so glad you were still able to have a successful party despite all else! Looks great- what wonderful PINK decorations (and cupcakes) and the girls looked gorgeous;) Hope Cate continues to heal…man I’d rather swallow medicine than get a shot any day! I still have a bruise on my arm where they drew blood 8 days ago!!!

  4. cassandra sagan webb says:

    Looks like everyone had a great time. You’re such a sweet mama. Those kids of yours are going to be heart breakers! They’re beautiful!

  5. Jenn says:

    I’m confusing myself with the other Jenn. I was like did I already comment on this post?

    Anyways that looks like the coolest kids party yet. btw I love the cupcakes. I talked my sister into letting me make her daughter a cupcake cake for her bday last and it was a huge hit. Your girls are so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

