opera cake

 

I hate baking.

I love to cook, but I’ve always thought baking was too fussy; to precise. So, as a challenge to myself and to try to foster an appreciation for baking, I joined Daring Bakers. I received this month’s challenge for an Opera cake and – my goodness gracious – the recipe and instructions were 12 pages long! In addition, I had to decide my own flavorings, and they had to be “light in color and flavor.” (Read: no chocolate.)

When I made the trip to go and visit my parents this weekend, my mom and I tackled the challenge. I had such a good time in the kitchen with her. It was fun to be working on the same dish. If we cook together, we’re usually preparing different items for a meal.

I decided to flavor my cake with peach and honey. I simmered the syrup that the cake was soaked in with peaches and added some honey as well. Peach puree went in the buttercream between the layers of the cake. Instead of the white chocolate glaze it called for, I made a peach and honey glaze.

The results: wonderful.

Peach & Honey Opera Cake

 

I’ve certainly learned to appreciate baking more through this challenge. I look forward to next month to let me expand my baking reportoire.

This entry was posted in Daring Bakers. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to opera cake

  1. Lou @ The Higher Nest says:

    Ooh, I would have never thought of peach! Yours came out amazing. Seems much lighter than mine, too. Great work (especially for someone who doesn’t like to bake, lol).

  2. Jamie says:

    Wow, that looks delicious!!! I am so not creative like that- I have to follow a recipe!

  3. Claire says:

    How pretty!

  4. Ms. W says:

    Um, wow. For someone who doesn’t like to bake, you knocked that one out of the park!

    Love to cook, but I hate to bake too. I tend to ruin even Rice Crispy Treats… and that is no baking required!

  5. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    WHOA!

  6. maybelles parents says:

    This was wonderful–I love the use of honey.

  7. maybelles parents says:

    This was wonderful–I love the use of honey.

  8. Jenn says:

    It looks great !

  9. Barbara Bakes says:

    Your cake is beautiful! What a great combination.

  10. Candace says:

    Looks yummy! Like the peach flavoring too.

  11. Jenn says:

    WOW! It beautiful. It looks like it would be sooo… good with filling oozing out.

  12. Courtney says:

    Wow! That is beautiful. You did a great job!

  13. Rebecca says:

    Congratulations on your first challenge! Peach sounds delicious.

  14. Shari says:

    Peach and honey sound great!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  15. silverrock says:

    Ooo… a peach and honey glaze. That sounds amazing… I want to have a big slice of that cake right now! Congrats on taking on such a challenge as baking. I can’t believe you don’t like baking, you seem like such a natural, and this cake looks professional! Great job

  16. Debyi says:

    Your cake looks amazing! Peach and honey sound divine, I never would have thought of that. Great job.

Leave a Reply

