raising readers

I’m so happy that Cate and Meg love books.

Cate has always been willing to sit quietly in her chair next to her books and look at pictures. When she got old enough, she would recite the ones she’d memorized.

Now we’re just getting into book age with Meg, and it’s a lot of fun. We’ve been reading to her regularly since about 6 months old, but only recently is she interested in them. Today I found that she’d climbed into Cate’s chair next to the book basket. She couldn’t figure out which book she wanted.

Reaching

Check out that curl on the top of her head!

 

Finally, she made a decision.

Got It

 

Meg flipped through the pages (yes, with the book upside down) while I took pictures. Cate got jealous and decided she wanted her picture taken, so she dragged a chair up. Meg was getting attention for reading, so what did Cate do? Yup, grabbed a book.

Reading

She put on Chris’ socks.

 

Talk about positive peer pressure!

I realize that I need to take the time to read more often, especially in front of them. I love reading, but find I have very little time to fit it in. When I decide I do want to read, it seems that other things fall by the wayside. I know this will change as the girls get older, but it’s so frustrating right now! I was history major; I’m used to reading a lot. It was not unusual for me to read 100 pages most every day (even more toward the end of the semester when I needed to get caught up). Now I’m lucky to get 10 pages in of a book that isn’t a child’s book.

The most fun thing about reading to Cate recently is that she’s fascinated with letters. She loves to point them out and tell me what sound it makes. With Meg, it’s that she’s finally learned to sit still and pay attention while we read to her. She even laughs at some books (she loves it when we make animal sounds, so Moo, Baa, La La La! has been popular with her.)

Reading is the basis for learning everything else they’re going to need to know, so I’m glad to be giving them a good start toward that.

This entry was posted in books and reading. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to raising readers

  1. Ms. W says:

    Sounds like my girls. My oldest could sit and read for hours and hours. My little one? Not so much. In fact, she has little interest in books at all… Sigh…

  2. * Tyly * says:

    As a teacher, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    Great pictures!

  3. Jenn says:

    They are too cute. I love the chair too. Good idea putting the books right next to the chair. I’ll have to keep that one in mind.

Leave a Reply

