I’ve had it up to here

I've had it up to here

I don’t get it. I just don’t.

Normally, we all get dressed after breakfast, but when we woke up to find Cate wet her bed last night, it became neccesary to dress her immediately. Sounds simple, right?

You might want to re-think your answer.

She’s been in a “do it myself” phase, but she can never make up her mind.

I tried picking out an outfit for her but that was apparently the wrong thing to do. She threw a fit and refused to pick out something else for herself. I got her to sorta agree to a Hornets basketball jersey (yes, Chris bought it for her) but then she wouldn’t put it on. I was losing my patience; I’d had it “up to here” y’all. Then Daddy walked in to Cate’s room to see what all the fuss was about.

Don’t you know her mood changed within a fraction of a second? She was all smiles and put her clothes right on without a peep, then went and sat with him while he shaved, happy and quiet as could be.

Why do they seem to do this? I could have had a monster of a day, and Chris comes in from work and they girls are wonderful. He’s left thinking, “I don’t understand why your day was so bad. They’re acting perfectly.” I’m left feeling like I want to pull my hair out even more.

(Or hit the bottle…)

This entry was posted in Daddy and daughter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve had it up to here

  1. Ms. W says:

    Right there with you!

    I think it has to do with the fact that they see us all of the time and they “know” us better. Dad’s are fun (and thus pleasing them is easy) and mom’s are mean…(or at least, mom’s have to enforce the rules more often.)

    My girls MUST get dressed before they even come down stairs. The only time jammies are worn during breakfast is when it is Sunday and I don’t want them to ruin their church dresses. We pick out an outfit (or two) the night before and they get dressed without issue. Sounds like Cate is testing the boundaries – which you already know – and once she sees where the boundary is, she’ll back off.

  2. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    Oh God!! This post frustrates me sooooo much! I don’t understand why husbands and Daddy’s are always the good guys and wives and Mommy’s are the bad guys! It is SO NOT FAIR! Unfortunately, there is absolutely no answer and I think this has been going on since the beginning of time. Aggghhh!!!!!

    Erica, I would totally let you come over and hit the bottle (or blender) with me whenever you needed to 😉

    P.S. You might already do this, but I saw on Supernanny that when it comes to “getting dressed” time, Mom or Dad should pick out two outfits that they wouldn’t mind their child wearing that day…then allow the child to choose between the two. It gives the kid “power,” although the Mom or Dad really remains in charge of what they wear. Make sense?

  3. Jenn Wilson says:

    Ha! You might know. Well if he only knew…. Go figure. Those girls just love their daddy don’t they. How sweet, but what is mommy supposed to do meanwhile??

Leave a Reply

