parking lot safety

It’s the middle of the week, so it’s time for Works-for-me Wednesday at Rocks In My Dryer. Today, I’m sharing my tip for parking lot safety.

When I first had Meg, I always struggled when deciding which girl to load/unload when getting in and out of the car. Cate could walk, but that also meant that she could run away. Meg was in a carrier at first, but I hated to set the carrier on the ground lest someone hit her.

Once Meg outgrew her infant carseat, taking her out second became a must; I couldn’t unbuckle Cate if my arms were tied up with Meg. That’s when it hit me – make it a game!

The gas tank is located on the same side of the car as Meg’s carseat. Now I unload Cate, and bring her around to Meg’s side of the car. I have Cate “find the square” (gas tank cover) and keep her hand on it until I’m finished with Meg.

For whatever reason, she took to this and now gets very excited to go and do it each time we get out of the car, even if we’re at home and it’s not necessary.

I love that I don’t have to worry about her wandering off anymore; she’s right by my side and occupied!

This entry was posted in WFMW. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to parking lot safety

  1. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    what a GREAT idea! What a smart mom! ;0)

  2. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    what a GREAT idea! What a smart mom! ;0)

  3. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    genius!

  4. Jamie says:

    Wow, that is a GREAT idea!!!

  5. Michelle@Life with Three says:

    That’s really clever — and I know my kids will love it because it’s a “game.” Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

