11 things on the 11th – pet peeves

1. Purposeful misspelling

For example, “Krispy Kreme” or “Cingular”. Why would you spend all this money to create a company and/or product only to make it look like you’re uneducated? I try to avoid using companies and products that misspell things as much as possible.

2. “Cash only” establishments

In this age of debit cards, it’s a rare day when I have cash. I look like I’m broke or a cheapskate when I go somewhere that won’t accept cards and can’t buy anything

3. Dark, dark navy blue

I hate that shade of navy that you can’t really tell whether it’s black or blue. What color shoe do you wear with that? Brown or black? I can never figure it out.

4. Out-of-place appliances

Chris leaves the coffee pot pulled away from the wall after using it. I have to push it back to its place almost every danged day. (To be fair, he has gotten a lot better about not doing it anymore.)

5. Noodle kids

You know that thing kids do when they’re throwing a tantrum and you try to pick them up and they go completely limp? It must be in the kid handbook somewhere.

6. Dishwasher dirt

I despise the detritus that ends up in the divots of your dishes in the dishwasher, (how’s that for alliteration?) even if you rinse your dishes before you put them in.

7. Dust on my water

I keep a glass of water on my nightstand at night. Sometimes when I take a sip in the middle of the night, I get a mouthful of dust and down from our comforter, and gag because of it. Perhaps I should dust my bedroom a bit more thoroughly.

8. Sand in the house

Living so close to the beach, sand is everywhere here! It gets into the house and is near impossible to get completely up, and with tile floors, it always sticks to my feet.

9. Hidden fees

Sure, home phone service is only $30 a month, but you end up paying $60 after taxes, fees, and surcharges.

10. Pilled fleece

You buy a nice, soft fleece item, and within a couple of washes, it’s rough and worn-looking.

11. Grabby little babies

I’ve had clumps of hair pulled out and been left with bruises from Meg grabbing at me. She doesn’t realize how strong she is, and I don’t know how to get her to stop; at this age, she’s only beginning to understand “no”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 11 things on the 11th – pet peeves

  1. Teri says:

    I love your list! It made me crack up, especially the noodle kids! 😉

  2. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    this is such an AWESOME list! I will admit, my favorite ones were the hidden fees, dark, dark, navy blue, and noodle kids. So true! I’ve never been able to decide if brown or black goes with the navy..

  3. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    this is such an AWESOME list! I will admit, my favorite ones were the hidden fees, dark, dark, navy blue, and noodle kids. So true! I’ve never been able to decide if brown or black goes with the navy..

  4. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    Black AND brown goes with navy. It depends on what color fabrics you’re wearing.

    Noodle kids…I love that. Why do they do that?!

  5. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    I say “fabrics,” but I guess I meant what OTHER colors you were wearing. I have a predominantly navy dress that has gold swirls on the bottom. Therefore, I wear brown shoes. If the dress had silver swirls, or white swirls, I would probably wear black…does that make sense?

  6. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    yes, Cass..now it makes more sense!

    Erica, thanks for the idea! I’m sure everyone would go for that!

    Also the whole grabbing thing..all you can do is watch out! Try to stay out of her hands reach(which I know sounds impossible) as much as you can. Just watch those hands and hold them or put things in them for her to play with. That way they’re occupied with something other than your hair/face/earrings!

  7. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    yes, Cass..now it makes more sense!

    Erica, thanks for the idea! I’m sure everyone would go for that!

    Also the whole grabbing thing..all you can do is watch out! Try to stay out of her hands reach(which I know sounds impossible) as much as you can. Just watch those hands and hold them or put things in them for her to play with. That way they’re occupied with something other than your hair/face/earrings!

Leave a Reply

