what’s next?

 

Today at Rocks in my Dryer, it’s the Works-For-Me Wednesday Backwards edition, meaning instead of offering a tip, you ask for advice.

My question concerns Cate (who will be 3 in June). She knows shapes, colors, numbers, and letters. She even knows what sound some of the letters make.

My question is, where do we go next? What else can I teach her? Or should I just not worry about teaching anything? We’ve worked on things, like numbers, for so long that it would seem strange to not have something new to show to her.

What do you think? What’s next for Cate?

This entry was posted in WFMW. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to what’s next?

  1. Sarah says:

    I have a 3.5 year with a July birthday. He started preschool last fall. He knew his letters, shapes and colors and could count to about 15 bf saying things like eleventeen, twentyteen, etc…At school he started working on letter sounds and writing letters, starting with their names.

    I wouldn’t worry about teaching anything, but if your daughter is interested, there’s no harm in doing these activites with her.

    Thanks for your advice on my blog. I think I just really need some assurance that Grace is going to turn out okay!

  2. Kim says:

    You can’t teach her too much if she is enjoying it.

    I agree with showing her how to write the letters, starting with her name, then short words if she grasps that quickly.

    I would work on phonics too.

    Kids that age are little sponges – give them lots to soak up. All long and you are not pressuring her – go for it!

  3. Name: Jenni says:

    I agree with the others, I’d start with writing; name, letters and numbers.

    At this age I would encourage you to follow her leading, so that she doesn’t get overwhelmed by everything and then not be interested in learning new things!

    Have fun with it!

  4. Sarah says:

    I agree with all the other comments. She may not be ready, but you could start working on writing/ drawing the things she has already learned. Does she have the concept of numbers or just know the numbers? Can she draw a circle. Does she know how to use scissors? Get out the paper and crayons and practice. Draw pictures. Let her cut things out. Have her trace circles and zigzags.

  5. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    I’m no expert, but I think teaching phonics would be appropriate, along with letter recognition. Example: “A” sounds like…”B” sounds like…that kind of thing. I learned letters and sounds before kinder and could read before I was 5.

    I remember a good strategy was making flash cards…one letter on each card. Sit with Cate and show her what each letter is and then practice the sounds together. Of course, go in ABC order until the skill is mastered (or she knows her ABC’s) and then once she knows the letters, the real challenge comes when you mix up the order of the letters. I always LOVED this “game” as a kid. It helps SOOO MUCH with reading skills.

    Chelsey would be a great one to ask!

  6. Jacquelyn: Because I Said So! says:

    If she likes the learning game, just expand it. Get or make flashcards of street signs, animals, birds, bugs, kitchen utensils, sports equipment, fruits vegetables. This will widen her knowledge and views, whereas phonics and reading will make school boring for her since she’ll get it there too. You could work on her ear, and play instrumentals so she can recognize individual instruments. Maybe start her on piano and reading music. Get a very simplified world map and start with the major countries. Aren’t kids GREAT? (I’m #178—come on over and you can link to my contest for $100 of kids’ vitamin supplement!).

  7. Jenni says:

    If I recall my own preschool days correctly, next Mom taught me to read the clock and to count money (she bought a set of play money for this, and made a clock out of a paper plate, construction paper, and a… brad? Is that what the nail-looking things that split in half down the point and fold back are called?) Anyway, now that she knows her numbers, it would probably be both exciting and informative for her to be able to use them in these ways. You could also introduce Roman numerals, but that’s really not as relevant.

  8. Teri says:

    I teach preschool, so this question is right up my alley…first of all, what you’re doing right now is awesome! Keep it up! I would work on introducing both upper-case and lower-case letters so that she gets to know both of them & note just one. Definitely count together both forwards & backwards. I would also work on writing her name (as best as possible at that age) with only the first letter in upper-case and the rest in lower-case. I have seen too many parents teach their kids to write their first name in all upper-case and then it is HORRIBLE to try and unbreak those bad habits when trying to use lower-case letters! And read together everyday! Hope that helps!

  9. Jamie says:

    See, you’re homeschooling already! You really should think about joining the group for next year (you can come to events now to see what its like). They’re going to be losing many families and will need some new faces. The women are wonderful. Not trying to be pushy…just want to help;) Also you can let your friend know about it. Tomorrow is park day…it is supposed to be nice. Maybe I will attempt to go seeing as I can’t motivate myself to school the children. We’ll see how I feel…

  10. Anonymous says:

    I used to love flashcards as a child. If she has a particular interest (animals? plants?) she may like to learn the names of different kinds.

Leave a Reply

