surgery day

Chris had his PRK surgery done today. Everything went smoothly, but he’s in a fair amount of pain already. Luckily, he’s been asleep for hours (with a bag of frozen peas over his eyes, which is a little funny.) The doctor said that tomorrow and the next day would be the worst as far as pain goes. I hate that I can’t do much for him.

A down side for me about the surgery is that I’m bored. (That sounds so whiny and selfish when you consider what Chris is going through) Cate is gone, Meg, though I love her dearly, isn’t really good company, and Chris is out of commission. I’m dying for someone to talk to! Chris was gone all day yesterday (from 3 am til 10 pm) at a funeral out of town, so I didn’t have company yesterday either. Cate won’t be back until Saturday, and Chris is supposed to stay in bed and sleep as much as possible the next couple of days.

What am I going to do with myself?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to surgery day

  1. jennifer in OR says:

    Erica, thanks for visiting my Works for Me! Okay, so you’re at a loss for what to do? You should find a great book to curl up with! I cannot seriously imagine having time on my hands and not knowing what to do! Well, I have four kids, a business I manage for my hubby, an always sorta messy house to tend to, a pile of books I want to read, letters to write to old friends and great-aunts, photos to organize, and the list could go on forever!

    I think you’re so used to being occupied with certain things (including 2 tiny, darling creatures which are your children) that when you have a moment to yourself, you don’t know what to do. I would above all PRAY, because how we wisely spend our time is so important. I’m continually reminded to ask God for wisdom in how I spend my precious resource of time — not for myself, but to bless others — which I constantly forget about in all my concerns about little old me.

    blessings to you,

  2. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    Wow. I’m with Jennifer. What great advice!

Leave a Reply

