feeling lucky

One of the things I love most about the military is the instant sense of community you feel. I know all of my neighbors. In fact, we all spent Thanksgiving together at a Thanksgiving block party of sorts. It’s so nice to go get the mail and stop to have a conversation with one of any number of people.

This week we’ve been spending a lot of time with the neighbors. The knob to turn on the dryer broke off, so I’ve had no way to dry our clothes (clothes lines are not allowed on base.) With at wet load in the dryer, and one in the washing machine, I needed to do something before they mildewed, so we visited with the neighbors and dried laundry. On Wednesday we went Alison’s house, who lives across the street. We hung out in the morning while the load dried and let our kids play. I left a load drying in her dryer while we went back for lunch, planning on picking them up when both girls were up from their naps. I went to retrieve it, and Alison had folded the laundry for me! I HATE folding laundry, so this was a major treat.

Yesterday, we’d already planned to play at another neighbor’s house, Emily, and I dried laundry at her house. Not only did I get that done, but while there, she sent me home with some of her homemade spaghetti sauce for dinner!

When we got home, we had a bag of heart-shaped sugar cookies and a handmade Valentine’s card from our neighbor, Gretchen, and her family.

This morning I went to the house of another neighbor, Shannon, who showed me, Alison, and Emily, her grain mill. She mills her own wheat! She showed us how to use her machine and taught us a little about the process, then whipped up two loaves of bread in a matter of minutes. Right about noon, Shannon came over and delivered some of the bread she’d made in the morning. I can’t describe how delicious it was. I might have had a bread “aha” moment (as Oprah would say). I love whole wheat bread anyway, but this loaf goes beyond anything I’ve ever eaten. (Now I want my own mill but that’s a different story…)

All of this is to illustrate how lucky I feel we are to have moved here into this neighborhood. Having all these people around us and in our everyday lives makes me truly thankful for our blessings

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to feeling lucky

  1. Jamie says:

    That is great that you have such wonderful neighbors. I miss that- we don’t have it here but we’ve had it before. A bunch of ladies in our homeschool group grind their own wheat and you are right- that bread is AWESOME and SO healthy.

  2. * Tyly * says:

    Wow! I can’t say that I even know the names of my neighbors! :o(

    I would LOVE to try bread like that! YUM!

Leave a Reply

