v-day? ha! It’s more like d-day around here…

I already got a Valentine’s surprise from Chris this morning. Want to know what it is? I’ll tell you a little about it – see if you can guess. Cate helped Chris with. It’s something I’d had before as a child but thought I’d never get again, especially from Chris. It was a lovely shade of red, and it might even change color later.

I’m going to leave you in suspense for a minute while I explain how February 14th typically goes with us. On our first Valentine’s, we’d only been dating a few weeks. Mardi Gras fell on February 13th that year, and I spent it with his family. I’d also spent some of the previous weekend with some friends going to parades. I thought I’d just overdone it when I felt awful on Valentine’s day. Since I was feeling so bad, we just went and grabbed dinner at a Chinese buffet since it would be quick. While there, I was freezing and shaking. We went back to my dorm and checked my temperature. It had gone from 99 to over 103 in about an hour. So, we ended up in the emergency room. I had a sinus infection and something else I can’t remember. I was sort of embarassed that Chris had to end up taking me to the hospital when we’d been dating such a short time!

That wasn’t our only bad Valentine’s day. Another year, my car broke down. The year I was pregnant with Cate, Mavis began having seizures on the 13th and was at the LSU Vet Clinic. On Valentine’s Day, we were told we’d probably have to put her to sleep. (Thank goodness that didn’t happen!) Last year, Chris was at OTS (Officer Training School).

I guess my point is this: I don’t know why I would expect things to go smoothly this year. I should have learned by now that having an uneventful day might be the best I can hope for.

Now, on to reveal what Chris gave to me. I would love to know what you think it might be, because I’m sure NO ONE would guess that this morning, Chris gave me a bloody nose!

Yup, that’s what I got. He leaned over to kiss Cate and I started to lean over to her just after he did. He stood back up really quickly and the back of his head hit my nose hard. So hard, in fact, that the force knocked me down to the floor! I had my face in my hands, and after a few seconds, I saw red drops on the floor under me. What I said about it changing color – I’m afraid it might bruise.

The bleeding stopped after just a few minutes, and I’m fine now, although I’m left with a major headache and a sore face.

Blah. Yet another Valentine’s Day to suit our luck perfectly.

This entry was posted in holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to v-day? ha! It’s more like d-day around here…

  1. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    oh my gosh!! I bet Chris felt horrible! You poor thing!! 😦

  2. cassandrasaganwebb. says:

    Although initially, I was guessing chicken pox…a bloody nose totally threw me off. lol.

  3. Courtney says:

    You poor thing. You just knew something would happen didn’t you?

  4. Jamie says:

    Oh no! I never would’ve guessed! Maybe you should celebrate it on a different day!

  5. * Tyly * says:

    How romantic! :o)

    I hope your nose is better!

Leave a Reply

