glittery Valentine’s playdough

I’ve been reading “Works-For-Me-Wednesday” at Rocks in My Dryer for quite a while now, and realized I had something to add this week! However, since Shannon is on a trip, WFMW is at Don’t Try This At Home this week.

Here’s my idea for a cute and easy Valentine’s gift that almost any child can help with – Glittery Valentine’s Playdough!

 

I’m behind the curve on Valentine’s. I wanted to do an activity with Cate, but couldn’t think of many things appropriate for a 2-1/2-year-old, and then I remembered we had a recipe for playdough! I decided we’d make pink glitter playdough as a gift for a few of her friends in the neighborhood. Here’s the recipe for the playdough:

Basic Playdough

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp oil

Add the food coloring to the water before mixing with dry ingredients. (I used 4 drops of red food coloring for this shade of pink). Mix all ingredients in a non-stick pan and heat on medium, stirring, until it forms a ball. Take out of pan and knead until it reaches desired consistency.

 

While kneading, I added about 1/8 cup clear glitter. You can’t really tell in the picture, but it’s very pretty in the light. I packaged the playdough in 1/2 cup disposable plastic containers and stamped it with a small heart-shaped cookie cutter before putting the lid on. Tomorrow we’ll give it to her friends with a hand-made card. If you had it, it would be nice to add a drop of a nice smelling essential oil, too.

There’s still time to do this one, and you probably have all the ingredients on hand already if you’re searching for a quick, kid-friendly project!

This entry was posted in WFMW. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to glittery Valentine’s playdough

  1. Jenn says:

    Cute idea – believe it our not I have never made playdough before. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Jamie says:

    We love our homemade playdough. Wait, it got thrown out…we need to make more!

  3. Family O'Foxes says:

    That is great! I bet you are popular!! 🙂
    ~Amy

  4. Family O'Foxes says:

    That is great! I bet you are popular!! 🙂
    ~Amy

  5. Sheila says:

    I love your blog’s background! Wow!!

  6. Nikki says:

    My kids will be thrilled when they see this in the morning! Thanks!

  7. Nikki says:

    I hope you don’t mind me linking to this post of yours. I just think it is very creative.

Leave a Reply

