trip to BR

Yesterday we went to Baton Rouge. We had some things we needed to take care of in person, plus going to Baton Rouge means getting to visit with The Ussery’s and going to Whole Foods. Who could resist?

We had to drop by a place on LSU’s campus. It’s amazing how much it’s changed since we were last there (which really wasn’t too long ago.) New buildings are everywhere, and a lot of the roads are gated off so you can’t just drive through campus anymore. I wanted to take the girls to see Mike VI, but I couldn’t find a parking spot and it was just about lunch time, so we skipped it. Cate’s already seen Mike, and Meg wouldn’t know the difference anyway.

After a trip through Whole Foods, we spent the rest of the day with Ashley, Chris, Chloe, and Noah. The kids had a really good time, and it was nice to do some catching up. I sure wish we lived closer!

While in Baton Rouge, I had such a heavy heart. Baton Rouge feels like home to me, and I still find it strange that I don’t live there anymore. Baton Rouge is where I lived when I left home for the first time and went to college, met Chris, lived when we got married, and where we had Cate. My first steps into the adult world all happened there, and now I don’t live there anymore.

Being an Air Force brat, I had never understood what it was to miss a place. I’ve missed people, food, and activities but never a place. I was driving through downtown and just felt like crying. I was only two blocks from where Chris and I lived after we got married. We passed by the house we lived in when we had Cate, and it’s been sold. Someone else lives there now (a very smart someone else who installed central air!) I’m happy to have moved on with my life, so why do I feel a lump in my throat even thinking about these things?

This “homesick” feeling is strange for me to grapple with. I’m sure it will fade with time. How do I deal with it in the meantime?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to trip to BR

  1. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    remember that you have a wonderful husband, two beautiful girls, and that “home” isn’t a place..it’s with the people you love. Savor the memories you have, but be excited about the new ones you’re making right now :0)

  2. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    remember that you have a wonderful husband, two beautiful girls, and that “home” isn’t a place..it’s with the people you love. Savor the memories you have, but be excited about the new ones you’re making right now :0)

  3. Jenn Wilson says:

    Awww… I would have loved to see you. I think the memories you have here will help you make the same type ones where you are now and will go in he future and you will cherish them no matter where you live. I know that feeling though. Look at what you’ve made in Biloxi.

Leave a Reply

