I’ve had it

You’ve probably heard of the most recent toy recall, Aqua Dots. There is a coating on some of the dots that, if swallowed, turn into the “date rape” drug (read the news story here.)

WHAT?! These are toys for goodness sake! As if lead weren’t bad enough…

This has become the final straw for me. We have several toys that have been recalled, but the “date code” doesn’t match those that were affected. How do they know that lead paint was used on September 20th, but not the 25th? It still makes me nervous.

I’m so sick of worrying that the things Cate and Meg are playing with are poison. I’ve decided I don’t want to make anymore impulsive toy purchases for the girls. So many of these toys are junk anyway. They’re fun until the novelty wears off. All they do is make noise, and there is no “learning” of any sort going on. Cate loves things like this, and it’s fun to buy her toys, but she tires of them quickly. So, no more.

From now on, I’m only buying high-quality wooden toys that force them to use their imagination: blocks, dollhouses, kitchen sets, etc. In fact, I’ve purchased the final Christmas present for Cate in the last few days. It’s from company called Plan Toys. They make toys from preservative-free rubber wood and use non-toxic paints. I bought one of their dollhouses for Cate, the Chalet dollhouse. It looks really neat and has had great reviews.

Sure, all these toys are more expensive, but isn’t the safety of my children worth it? Also, because they’re more expensive, I’ll buy fewer – a major plus since our house is becoming cluttered with all these toys.

As a mother, I worry about so much these days. I shouldn’t have to worry about their toys. I’d rather save the energy for something else.So here’s to safe, interesting (albeit expensive) toys!

This entry was posted in grrr, holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve had it

  1. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Aren’t all the recalls crazy?!! I think your plan of only buying wooden toys is great. And what kid doesn’t love playing with blocks and doll houses? That one looks like so much fun, I’d go play with it! (o:

    Yeah, I wonder if it’s something in the environment that does it. I’ve always had a base/low level of head pain, but this has lasted for a long time. I hate the idea of taking a prescription for it too. David says I’m a bad patient. (o: We’ll see how it goes.

  2. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Aren’t all the recalls crazy?!! I think your plan of only buying wooden toys is great. And what kid doesn’t love playing with blocks and doll houses? That one looks like so much fun, I’d go play with it! (o:

    Yeah, I wonder if it’s something in the environment that does it. I’ve always had a base/low level of head pain, but this has lasted for a long time. I hate the idea of taking a prescription for it too. David says I’m a bad patient. (o: We’ll see how it goes.

  3. * Tyly * says:

    I think that’s a great idea!!!

Leave a Reply

