I just don’t understand it

Today at playgroup, they had a Halloween party. Everyone signed up to bring something for it. This is a group of stay-at-home moms and do you know that everything that was brought was store bought? I made the cake, and someone else brought a vegetable tray they’d put together themselves, but nothing else was homemade. I can understand when you signed up to bring chips and soda, but cupcakes, cookies, and brownies? Come on! What ever happened to making goodies to bring in?

My mom worked outside of the home, and I still never brought in store bought treats for school. She made everything. All these moms are home during the day and didn’t carve out the time to do it themselves. Is it just me, or is this really weird?

This entry was posted in holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I just don’t understand it

  1. cassandralynne. says:

    Yeah that is kind of weird. I could understand, though, if they had lots of other things going on. Who knows? Home-made stuff is always the best, though. So good for you!!

    P.S. You NEVER, not once, struck me as the stay-at-home-mom type when I knew you. Was there a pivotal moment in your life when you decided that’s what you wanted to do? (I’m not criticizing, of course. In fact, I’m jealous!) You just never came across as the “mommy type.” Does that sound horrible? :o(

  2. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    yes..that is very weird! My mom and all of us girls always made everything homemade. I feel horribly guilty anytime that I have take something to a party/event, ect that is store bought, because I didn’t have the time to make it, or was out of town, etc. No, it’s not just you!

  3. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    yes..that is very weird! My mom and all of us girls always made everything homemade. I feel horribly guilty anytime that I have take something to a party/event, ect that is store bought, because I didn’t have the time to make it, or was out of town, etc. No, it’s not just you!

  4. Jenn Wilson says:

    No way absolutely not. People that know me know they can come to my house and get something yummy and gee I wonder why? Cause it’s all from scratch. It makes such a big difference in taste in my opinion and not only that, YOU KNOW WHAT GOES IN IT! It is crazy the way people in the world are these days. I just don’t get it either. I’ve gotten to the point that when I’m hungry and don’t feel like cooking there isn’t anything that will satisfy me outside of my house quickly anymore. I’ve gotten so used to the way I eat what I make.

    Erica you are amazing and maybe you can shed some light on them!

Leave a Reply

