red, red wine (go to my head, make me forget…)

This is Chris’ car, which he refers to as “red, red wine” in conversation. If you ask him what color his car is, he’ll tell you it’s “merlot” (not maroon).

1992 Buick Century

I hate this car. The only good thing about it is that it was free. That’s because it was – are you ready – my great-grandmother’s car! It was given to my great-uncle, and when he passed, my grandmother gave it to us. Chris didn’t have a car before this one, so I don’t know if that’s why he’s so attached? The air conditioning doesn’t even work. It does run really well though. Apparently it also rides really well, but I’ve been so busy trying to make myself invisible the few times I’ve ridden in it to notice.

As much as I hate it, Chris loves it. He tells me he’s never going to get rid of it. He also thinks it’s funny to show it off. He always threatens to go get an airbrushed license plate that says “red, red wine” on it. It would be a great finishing touch, don’t you think?

I don’t want to make it sound like we’re not grateful for it; we are. Until recently we wouldn’t have been able to afford to buy a car, so this has really been a blessing for us.

But man, I sure do hate to be seen in (or by or near) it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to red, red wine (go to my head, make me forget…)

  1. cassandralynne. says:

    LoL. Red, red, wine. That’s hilarious. I don’t understand men and their affection toward nasty cars. Aaron was the same way with his awesome Superman blue 1991 Ford Taurus. I was so happy when that thing got totalled!

  2. Anonymous says:

    This one had us laughing!! I need to thank you – I now have a great idea for Chris for Christmas. There is a great airbrush “artist” at the mall who can take care of Chris’s wish for a license plate.
    Would he prefer the lighting, flashing plate holder or just go with the simple gold chain one?
    We could always get Cate a matching one for her trike. Mom

  3. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Maybe you could get y’alls last name airbrushed on the rear window too. I mean, if you’re going to get the license plate…

  4. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Maybe you could get y’alls last name airbrushed on the rear window too. I mean, if you’re going to get the license plate…

  5. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Oh, and here’s the witch finger cookie recipe:
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/232939

    Just make sure you roll small fingers, or else they’ll look like toes. (o:

    Umm, the dogs weren’t that happy in their costumes. The cape is alright, because it just ties on, but Roxie tried to eat her hot dog costume.

  6. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Oh, and here’s the witch finger cookie recipe:
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/232939

    Just make sure you roll small fingers, or else they’ll look like toes. (o:

    Umm, the dogs weren’t that happy in their costumes. The cape is alright, because it just ties on, but Roxie tried to eat her hot dog costume.

  7. Pingback: grade school, now online « on the move

Leave a Reply

