a bright (even though it’s rainy) day

Cate has been just splendid today. This morning started out rough, but she really shaped up and reminded me of all the things I love about her.

This morning she was crying about everything. I guess she was just a little sleepy still. I managed to get through the first part of the morning, and we went to playgroup. She was still high energy, as usual, but manageable. She listened without tantruming when told “no”, and she wasn’t trying to do anything that was too meddlesome (for a 2-year-old). She played well with the other kids there; she really enjoys being around the girls that are a little older, and mimics every move they make.

Another plus today is that I’ve only had to change 1 diaper for Cate. Chris picked up a bag of mini Reese’s peanut butter cups for “potty treats”. Turns out she looooves “pita budder cups” and it’s been a great motivator. (A funny sidenote: She’ll start muttering to herself about the Reese’s and she ends up calling them “pita budder and jelly cups”)

Cate ate well at lunch. Afterward, she played quietly while I put Meg to sleep. Next, it was Cate’s turn for nap, and she only cried when she realized that I forgot to brush her teeth (bad mommy!) We brushed her teeth, put her back down, and I have heard a peep for nearly 2 hours….wow! Meg has only woken up once during that time.

I was able to fold and put away some laundry, start the dishwasher, match socks, catch up on some e-mails, watch a DVR’d Hills, and straighten the living room.

As if things couldn’t get better, Meg has also been a doll today. She’s been as easy as I could ever wish for a baby to be.

It’s days like this that make me realize how wonderful my life is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a bright (even though it’s rainy) day

  1. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Aw, that does sound like a wonderful day! I’m glad everything worked out and things went really smoothly. I think we all need those days to remind us how good we have it sometimes.

  2. Something's Gotta Give says:

    Aw, that does sound like a wonderful day! I’m glad everything worked out and things went really smoothly. I think we all need those days to remind us how good we have it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

