babies are hard

There have been a lot of things I could have been posting but just haven’t had the energy.

Meg has been having trouble sleeping lately, so I haven’t gotten any decent sleep. She woke up 7 times last night, and ate 3 of those times. Seriously, when she was a newborn she didn’t eat that much in the middle of the night. I guess she’s just getting hungrier and has to eat more often now that she’s bigger. If that’s the case, we’ll definitely be starting solids just as soon as I get the ok from the doctor, which ought to be at her 4 month checkup in less than a week. I’m also looking forward starting solids to be able to, perhaps, take her off the acid reflux medicine. Her peditrician said that often when they start solids, the acid reflux is no longer an issue. We’ll see.

I’m so tired I’m actually dreaming about Meg not sleeping. She stirred at 6:00 this morning as Chris was getting ready to leave for his class. I remember mumbling to him, “I think we should get Meg a Medic Alert bracelet saying she’s allergic to sleep.” Chris asked, “How long did it take you to think of that?” I realized then that it was in my dream.

Not only has she been waking a lot, she’s also taken to screaming, unable to be consoled, for random periods throughout the day. It’s so difficult to deal with a child that is crying like that. I feel helpless – nothing I do seems to help. Finally she’ll give up and go to sleep (for a short time, at least.)

Meg also refuses to take a bottle anymore. She screams at the sight of it. I have never seen a child so upset as when we try to give her a bottle. She takes a pacifier, so she shouldn’t be so angry about the bottle. I guess she’s sort of losing interest in the pacifier some, too. That’s a good thing. I’d rather she chew on a toy when she’s stuck in her carseat rather than suck on a pacifier.

One thing I’ve got this time around is experience. I know that no matter how difficult things seem, they let up eventually. They always do. I know it’s not going to be like this forever, but I also know that when one thing gets easy again, something else is bound to get hard. It’s okay though, because it’s something new to deal with, not the same old problem. Roll with the punches, right?

This entry was posted in night wakings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to babies are hard

  1. cassandralynne. says:

    I feel for you friend. I don’t know how you do it. You deserve an award. You’re a good mama. Just think – what will you do all day when they start school? Run around naked and do whatever you want! Hehe!

Leave a Reply

