good southern manners

Cate is “napping” in her room and I’m assuming she’s looking out the window because I hear her in there begging for a, “flower, please!” She can see several different gardens from her bedroom window.

Cate has really picked up on manners recently. She says “thank you” almost all the time, and her use of “please” has really increased. Actually, she says “say please” as in, “Some more milk Mommy? Say please?” I guess she’s parroting our reminders.

She has also gotten really good at saying “ma’am” and “sir”. I’ve been pushing her to say “yes ma’am” instead of “ok” when she is asked a question. She’ll tell me “yes ma’am, Mommy.”

Why don’t people teach their children these things? Like, for instance, I can’t stand when a child refers to an adult by their first name alone. I think it’s rude and disrespectful. “Miss Erica” is acceptable, as would be “Mrs. McMillian”, though that sounds a bit formal to me in most settings. (My mom tells me that referring to someone as Miss or Mr. first name is not common in other places) Cate may slip up on calling someone “Miss” but it never goes without correction.

This focus on manners has taken a bit of a comedic turn. This morning she kept requesting something of me by saying, “Please? Say please. Mommy? Please?” but she never told me what it was that she wanted. After the tantrum she threw when she couldn’t get her point across, I figured out she wanted playdough. If only she’d said that…

It’s great that Cate as taken to this way of behaving. Do I love that I’m not after her to all the time to be polite? Yes ma’am.

This entry was posted in Catespeak. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to good southern manners

  1. Something's Gotta Give says:

    That’s amazing! Honestly, most of the little kids I see in stores and things have zero manners. I was actually shocked when a boy at HEB, maybe 10 years old, ran into me and actually said, “Excuse me, ma’am.” So yay for Cate learning so young! And yay for mom and dad teaching her good manners! (o:

  2. Something's Gotta Give says:

    That’s amazing! Honestly, most of the little kids I see in stores and things have zero manners. I was actually shocked when a boy at HEB, maybe 10 years old, ran into me and actually said, “Excuse me, ma’am.” So yay for Cate learning so young! And yay for mom and dad teaching her good manners! (o:

  3. cassandralynne. says:

    That’s great news! And yes, “Miss First Name” is a totally Southern thing and I hate it! It just gets under my skin for some reason.

    “Tell Miss Cassandra ‘bye bye.'” Uggggh!!

  4. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    I’m going to have to play the devil’s advocate on this one. If it was one of my friend’s children, I would much rather they say, “Miss Chelsey” rather than my first name, or “Ms. Snodgrass”. Now, if it’s my students, that’s a different story-Ms. Snodgrass only. Ok..now shoot me down ;0)

  5. Chelsey's Chatter says:

    I’m going to have to play the devil’s advocate on this one. If it was one of my friend’s children, I would much rather they say, “Miss Chelsey” rather than my first name, or “Ms. Snodgrass”. Now, if it’s my students, that’s a different story-Ms. Snodgrass only. Ok..now shoot me down ;0)

  6. cassandralynne. says:

    Yeah, I can see both sides. Mrs. Webb is too formal, but Miss Cassandra makes my skin crawl. How about “Hey you!” ;o)

    Erica, where are you getting all your recent recipes from?

  7. Jenn Wilson says:

    So glad to hear she’s learning at such a young age. Now that I think of it, Miss “first name” is such a southern thing, but after all aren’t southern people more polite? But I do know what you mean about children and the parents not teaching them anything about manners. OR how about they do teach them, but only until 3 and don’t feel the need to enforce it when they are older, that bugs me too.

Leave a Reply

