better than I’d hoped

We stuck to the menu last night. We had Chicken Adobo, jasmine rice, and sesame broccoli. It was…delicious. Many thanks to my Aunt Laura for passing along the Adobo recipe. Everyone in the house loves it.

Also, there was a major success of another kind last night. Cate ate some broccoli! We didn’t even pressure her to do it, she just decided to eat it at some point, and got a whole floret out of the bowl (she had one cut up on her plate) and ate the crown off of it. Then she ate the crowns off of two more! I wish she’d eaten the stems too, but I’m happy with her eating ANY of it.

Cate used to eat almost exclusively vegetable when she was a baby. In fact, she didn’t even want to eat fruit – only vegetables. I don’t understand what happened. I don’t like fighting her to eat vegetables, but there’s no way I’m going to give up. We try to keep the rest of her diet as healthy as we can (whole grains, beans, low-fat dairy, lots of fruit) to compensate for the lack of vegetables. She loves V-8 so I try to give her as much of that as she’ll stand, but it’s just not the same as actually eating the vegetables.

I’m beyond thrilled by Cate eating the broccoli last night. I’d make broccoli every night if she’d actually eat it.

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to better than I’d hoped

  1. cassandralynne. says:

    Congratulations on your broccoli victory!

Leave a Reply

