luau birthday party

Last Friday, we had a luau-themed birthday party for the girls.  “Party” is a bit relative.  My mom’s side of the family was visiting from Pennsylvania for the week, but there were no other guests aside from them.

The girls decided they wanted a luau-themed celebration, so that’s what we did.  (I think they really just wanted to wear grass skirts and leis.)

Hula Girls

Even Blythe got her turn with a grass skirt.

Hula Blythe

Here’s what my mom and I came up with for the cake.  I’d never worked with fondant before; thankfully my mom has!  It was actually really easy to make the flowers and “grass skirt” for the cake. I’m very proud of the way it turned out.

Luau Cake

But here’s the most fun part of the whole cake – the inside!  They said they wanted a rainbow cake, and a rainbow cake is what they got.

Rainbow Birthday Cake

This year I got trick candles for the cake.  It was funny to watch their reactions to the candles re-lighting themselves.

The macaroni and cheese even got a festive treatment.  I think the crumbs on top make it look like sand.

Festive Mac & Cheese

They got to open a few gifts as well.  I just love the look on Meg’s face here.  She’d just opened a ballerina Barbie (that has curly hair, no less) from my cousin, Sara.  She loves it.

Appreciative

They also each received skates from my parents, which they’ve enjoyed a great deal.

Cate Skates

Next year, I swear we’ll throw them a party with friends; they didn’t have a party last year, either.  Especially given the circumstances, though, it turned out to be a nice time for all.

This entry was posted in curly hair, holidays and celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to luau birthday party

  1. Erica says:

    Everything looks fun and festive!! Love the cake… so cute! And your girls are adorable!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love the cake! And the girls are looking just a cute as ever. Who doesn’t love a luau party? Great job!

Leave a Reply

